New 'I want to buy a laptop' Thread (1 Viewer)

Status
Not open for further replies.

gracie007

HSC
Hey all

OK so I know theres been heaps of threads on this, but as you know, new models come out all the time and we have to consider those hey.
Anyways, I'm allowed to get a laptop. I will mainly be using it for:
-Uni stuff: Writing up documents, using excel and all that stuff, lecture notes.
-possibly watching movies on at home
-using it a bit for music (definately not a prioroity though)
-surfing the net
-maybe download a few tv show episodes.

As far as things I need for this laptop...well I dont really have much of a clue as Im not very good with all the techy stuff...but here goes:
-Price range of $1500-$2000 or thereabouts
-I DO NOT want anything made by Apple ..whether it be a macbook or whatever.
-Good battery life
-As light/slim as possible, if not then i guess I could deal
-Be able to connect wirelessly to networks (Im at uts so to be able to work here-however i do that)
-DVDRW drive
-If possible bluetooth

Thats about it. as u can see I have pretty much no idea...but thats where u come in!
Thanks all!

HSC
pity you don't want apple. You can get heaps slim apple laptops.

jemsta

I sit here alone
HSC
ive got an asus w5f notebook, so i highly recommend asus
try looking at the dell website, i know theyre not the best quality made laptop out there, but its value for money
have a look in here and see which tickles your fancy
http://www.laptop.com.au/laptopsu.shtml
oh youll probably be looking at core duo at least, and wireless is acceptable at UTS too

S1M0

LOLtheist
HSC
Those new asus laptops with leather is the best for you. Its powerful, small, stylish, and comes in lots of colours. Which i'm sure you'll appreciate.

I forget the name, mabye looking at the asus website, there were ads on tv a few weeks ago.

HotShot

-_-
HSC
you got plenty of money there:

For slim, weight = sony vaio
for power, value = acer
for others =asus

toshiba is good as well