How to present a good speech..? (1 Viewer)

harrietty

HSC
So I would've posted this in English, since this is what I'm trying to figure out, but it could go for any subject I guess.

Anyhow, the marking guidelines we've been given for our first assessment task (speech) say this:
"Persuasively represents own ideas and points of view regarding the impact of time on belonging using speech form (address and engage live audience) and rhetoric (repetition/binary opposition/ accumulation of phrases/short sentences/pauses/rhetorical questions etc). (o/c 8)"

I've never done it before, but it's Year 12 now, and it's on the marking guidelines, so I'm thinking of starting off with a rhetorical question, then stating my thesis?

Also, anyone actually know what binary opposition and accumulation of phrases are? I tried googling the first one, but to no avail, haha.

Does anyone know any tips or tricks on how to present a good speech? I'm sure a lot of people would want to know too. :)

enoilgam

HSC
Well, from what I can remember, binary opposition is where a situation can be defined by two opposite outcomes (like win or lose, right or left etc). An accumulation of phrases isnt anything specific, it is just asking you to refer to a series of phrases in order (phrases can be powerful persuasive tools).

Green Pup

HSC
As with all speeches, you need to engage your audience. What I found with English speeches at school was that the marker focused more on the delivery, rather than the actual content. My prelim speech was dodgy but I presented it reasonably well and got 18/20, hardly any techniques put into it. That doesn't mean you're going to skimp on the content though, this is the bloody HSC after all!