Interested in becoming a paramedic (1 Viewer)

Sonesful

HSC
So I'm in my first year at uni doing a science course at USYD. Right now, I really do not know what I want to do, but I'm pretty sure it won't being staying in the course I'm in currently. I know I want to do something health related, but I don't want to be stuck in an office or a lab for the rest of my life, so I thought about maybe choosing to become a paramedic.

I've done a tiny bit of research on this and have found out that there aren't many places that offer a paramedicine degree near Sydney, theres UWS but its in Campbelltown, and theres CSU in Port Macquarie. Both alot farther than Redfern for me.

So here are my questions:
- Are there any places that offer a paramedicine degree near Sydney?
- Is it worth it to become a paramedic?
- What are the job prospects for paramedics?

I think I have more questions, but they haven't made their way to the front of my brain yet. If there are any paramedics here, or people doing a paramedicine course, or really anyone who may be able to give me some insight on choosing paramedics as a career, your input will be greatly appreciated :) Thank you

Last edited:

astroman

HSC
Programs with Full Accreditation:

Auckland University of Technology NZ - Bachelor of Health Science (Paramedicine)
Charles Sturt University NSW - Bachelor of Clinical Practice (Paramedic)
Edith Cowan University WA - Bachelor of Science (Paramedical Science)
Flinders University SA - Bachelor of Science (Paramedic)
Monash University VIC - Bachelor of Emergency Health(Paramedic)
Monash University VIC - Bachelor of Nursing/Emergency Health (Paramedic)
Queensland University of Technology - Bachelor of Paramedic Science
Queensland University of Technology - Bachelor of Paramedic Science Graduate Entry
Victoria University - Bachelor of Health Science (Paramedic)
Paramedic programs with Provisional Accreditation:

Australian Catholic University - Bachelor of Nursing/Bachelor of Paramedicine