Hopeless at creative writing (1 Viewer)

guypineapple

HSC
I'm not really good at creative writing, or English. Just wondering if anyone can give me any suggestions on how to improve my introduction.
(My complete story is episodic)

His body trembled, as he trampled through the marshes. Lifeless figures gazed up from their hollowed faces. His body trembled as he trudged towards base, lanky guerrilla lurked though the shadows. A shot was fired!
The days that they saw themselves as belonging to the land appeared to be long gone. The peaceful safe environment they lived in for 40000 years appeared to be lost. He was torn between two worlds; belong to the land as his ancestors had for 40000 years, or to blend in, to the white society. It couldn’t be that bad could it?

ashleighjade

HSC
Ahem. Where to begin? Well, to start with.. FEEL FREE TO IGNORE ME. My English teacher tells me I have "natural writing ability", but that didn't stop me from getting 8/15 for trials. Hm. Mind, it was an idea plucked out of mid-air with 15 minutes to spare so take that as you want it.

In all honesty? Your "intro" lacked direction, sophistication, purpose, integrity. Basically everything. Sorry, but honestly, if you continue writing in that style I predict, maybe, a band 4? :S

First, however, the episodic idea? Not so sure about that. I really believe that you would not have the time in an exam, unless you are an exceptionally talented student, to write in this form. Your ideas would be under-developed and just, yeah. Hmm.

Secondly, you'd probably be best to focus on one aspect of belonging or not belonging and expand upon that? You'd want a very strong story to back this up. You want your idea to be clear, but you do not necessarily want to have to say it in so many ways.

HOWEVER, I have to warn you, your first idea (which, by the way, signified to me warfare) would be easier to discuss, and would be more dramatic - easier to draw the attention of the reader.. ;P