Your Opinion On Chemistry ? (1 Viewer)

mimi2195

HSC
Hey guys :),
I am currently studying Chemistry as part of my 2012 Preliminary HSC Course. I have obtained many advice from past students who undertook Chemistry in their HSC exam and majority of feedback I received was that Chemistry is the hardest possible exam to achieve a satisfactory mark in. My school notified me that in the past years the highest Chemistry mark for the HSC exam at our school was only 77.
As I want to get into Law School, Im not completely assured that I should continue with Chemistry simply because my ATAR needs to be a 90+ ! Also, my tutor recently told me that Chemistry should be easy as long as Im putting in the time and effort to achieve decent results.
Any advice on Chemistry would help me out heaps ! Thanks in advance.
;)

Carrotsticks

Retired
HSC
N/A
Chemistry is actually a pretty easy subject if the concepts are explained/taught properly. Most of it was very logical (so not much memorising was needed) so it connected quite smoothly.

If you have a (good) tutor and put in the necessary work, you will most certainly acquire at least a Band 5.

I suggest you continue it, don't let the previous years scare you away, otherwise nobody would do it!

barbernator

HSC
you dont want general maths to count towards your atar now do you?

mimi2195

HSC
Chemistry is actually a pretty easy subject if the concepts are explained/taught properly. Most of it was very logical (so not much memorising was needed) so it connected quite smoothly.
I suggest you continue it, don't let the previous years scare you away, otherwise nobody would do it!
I will continue Chem because Id rather drop General but Im also trying to get as much help as i can with chemistry on account of my school not being able to thoroughly teach the course decently lol

madharris

HSC
N/A