To drop down or not? That is the question (1 Viewer)

Virtual_Wonderer

HSC
hey everyone, I'm debating whether or not to drop down from maths advanced into standard. This is my first week of year 12 and I just got my prelim marks back. Needless to say it's low enough for me to be considering it, since a band 5 or 6 is still a high band even if its standard, over a band 3 in advanced. I'm doubtful as to whether I could achieve a band 5 in the advanced course, and I want to maximise my atar marks, I'll worry about requirements later. Should I drop it or wait until this term's test?

Grateful for any advice or any experiences from people that have dropped down, thank you in advance

AsuTeksu

Rising Renewal
HSC
Hey there!

I'm an Advanced Maths student so my input may or may not be of any help.

I was at a Band 2/3 level after finishing Prelims which was one of the most demoralising things I have ever experienced. Although, I didn't drop since I needed the subject for my degree. I pushed through and I'm currently at a Band 5/6 level. So it is possible to bounce back! (Provided you're willing to put in the effort and whatnot).

There has been a lot of "experiencing sharing" on the forums here regarding this topic. It really is all up to you and your capabilities!

I advise you wait until the first assessment and see how you go, HOWEVER, you must put a genuine effort in. If you know you can't/won't put the effort in to do Advanced, it probably is better to drop.

There's a lot of people who have dropped though (that received low bands in Advanced) and are now in high bands for Standard.

Again, it's all up to you! but hopefully my input was of some help! :D

carrotsss

HSC