Someone please help with In the Skin of a Lion!!! (1 Viewer)

Apathetic

Just as we all know that teachers never describe anthing really simply, I'm still having trouble getting to the bottom of the whole idea of this text (Skin of a Lion). I f possible, can somebody please just explain the text to me really simply. Thanks guys, I hate this text!
xoxo

cakes

hi
HSC
Hahaha yeah i was just about to start a thread about in the skin of a lion- i haven't seen one!!!

Ok.. which readings are you wanting to do? I might be able to help you out a little

Apathetic

hehe, yeah, it seems as though noone has done it, and that everyone is doing King Lear.
Well, off the topic, but I have a history tutor, and yesterday he gave me an outline of one of the things I'm studying, and after doing it for ages in class, I finally understood it. I wanted someone to do this for Skin of a lion. I just want like an outline, or short summary of the text, cause it confuses me SO much!!

cakes

hi
HSC
It's quite confusing because it's written in a non-linear form - it's not all in order, like he refers to the future and that, and the end can be seen as the beginning sorta thing.

Each section is basically a story (told by Patrick to Hana as we find out right at the end) about different people... eg Nicholas Temelcoff, Clara, Alice (who was the nun that flew off the bridge), Ambrose Small.. etc. There isn't really a "plot" in the traditional sense

Yeah, what you have to do is different readings of the novel...

bails

Yeah i reallly hate this novel! Why dont they pick things that we'd b interested in? makes sense to me!

My readings are that Patrick, the main character finds a voice in his experiences and relationships throught the journey of the novel.