Linux (1 Viewer)

OzKo

Retired
HSC
Uni Grad
I messed around with Ubuntu a few times but I couldn't get it to recognise my drivers so I removed it.

iRuler

Premium Member
HSC
Uni Grad
It's alright for some stuff and messing around unless you know what you're doing.

I have an Ubuntu VM which is always running for the hell of it, usually just to mess around and maybe learn a few things every now and then.

iSplicer

HSC
Uni Grad
OSX is the perfect bridge between windows and linux imo. You've got the solid UNIX core to go with an aesthetic system that works with everything. win.

Arcorn

Ban ned
HSC
OSX is the perfect bridge between windows and linux imo. You've got the solid UNIX core to go with an aesthetic system that works with everything. win.
You seriously can't be this genuinely retarded...

harrisony

goodbye cruel world
HSC
N/A
You mean POSIX

iSplicer

HSC
Uni Grad
You seriously can't be this genuinely retarded...
Strong call right there.

I've had over three years experience administrating a LAMP server with numerous slots. I've got no problem scripting and compiling with bash on Osx. It gives me everything I need from a unix based os, didn't even need my Debian vm.

Now run along.

harrisony

goodbye cruel world
HSC
N/A
Strong call right there.

I've had over three years experience administrating a LAMP server with numerous slots. I've got no problem scripting and compiling with bash on Osx. It gives me everything I need from a unix based os, didn't even need my Debian vm.

Now run along.
If you really wanted to get technical Debian isn't UNIX

Arcorn

Ban ned
HSC
Strong call right there.

Now run along.

Bash is a terminal shell. And a shit one at that. Don't know why you would be scripting on it.

na110793

HSC
What distro would you guys recommend for a mid range laptop?

specs:
Intel i3 (2.20Ghz)
4GB DDR3 RAM (1 stick @ 667Mhz)
640GB
Intel HD Graphics (shared, 1845MB)
SD card reader
Atheros wireless
Gigabit LAN
1x USB 3.0 and 2x USB 2.0
HDMI