Japanese Studies (1 Viewer)

kaitoufion

HSC
Hi~

Has anyone done Japanese Studies at UNSW before???

Just wanna hear some comments about this course as I will be doing it this year :)

Thz~!

mushroom_head

holey moley!
HSC
i will be doing this toooooooooo! i was just wondering when we do the test for them to place u in different levels coz i did japanese for my hsc and i'm sure i need to do this test

babydoll_

wat
HSC
N/A
http://languages.arts.unsw.edu.au/main/placetest.html

I do Science/Arts, and I'm majoring in Japanese Studies, possibly to do Honours. As I never did Japanese in the HSC I started with JAPN1000 and JAPN1001. Those subjects are 6cp each, with 5 contact hours a week. I believe JAPN2000 and JAPN2001 are the same - if you have done HSC Japanese you are usually sent straight to JAPN2000/2001.

1 1hr lecture
2x 2h tutorial classes

Most of the classes are taught by native Japanese speakers (however, the head of the department is a gaijin). The focus is spread amongst all aspects of the language - reading, writing, listening and speaking. Later on in the degree, you will do culture units where you will learn about Japanese culture and history; but for most of these the prerequisite is Japanese at JAPN2000 level...

On the whole Japanese at UNSW is really ace. If you are interested in Anime there is an Anime Club which you can join during O-week. Also, as a Japanese student you will be granted automatic membership into J-club which has weekly meets.

I hope that made sense

daiana

Mmmeo0owwWw
HSC
woohoo i'm going there too!!!

placement tests are soon

i believe i dont need to stress like the hsc exams (as if i really did do them fully awake!)

i also believe that...

im majoring in japanese

and did u know that the placement tests are on 24th 10-12

and that ur results come out in the afternoon? i wonder what they mean by afternoon though? early evening? wakaranai!!

mushroom_head

holey moley!
HSC