Head Teacher Not Letting Me Drop Subject (1 Viewer)

maryjane05

HSC
I am in year 11 wanting to drop a pretty content heavy subject which I am not good at for a more practical subject (Design And Tech). I have talked with the 2 Design And Tech teachers in the school that know me really well and they have said that I have the skills for the course and they would be happy to have me in the class. However, the subject coordinator of my school (who has no background in the course and is a History teacher) is not allowing for this to happen. I know I would ace Design and Tech but he thinks he knows me. Does anybody here have any advice? I will probably contact NESA if this continues.

maryjane05

HSC
I am in year 11 wanting to drop a pretty content heavy subject which I am not good at for a more practical subject (Design And Tech). I have talked with the 2 Design And Tech teachers in the school that know me really well and they have said that I have the skills for the course and they would be happy to have me in the class. However, the subject coordinator of my school (who has no background in the course and is a History teacher) is not allowing for this to happen. I know I would ace Design and Tech but he thinks he knows me. Does anybody here have any advice? I will probably contact NESA if this continues.
In this situation, I do not think the school is allowed to force me to stay, correct me if I am wrong. I can tell this is probably true as he uses "I do not recommend" in his language to me instead of "I will not let you", insinuating that he cannot force me.

maryjane05

HSC
In this situation, I do not think the school is allowed to force me to stay, correct me if I am wrong. I can tell this is probably true as he uses "I do not recommend" in his language to me instead of "I will not let you", insinuating that he cannot force me.