• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Eng. Adv Speeches? (1 Viewer)

tearsdontfall

HSC
So I'm a complete noob at writing English speeches.
I have a speech coming up about Othello and on the assessment notification, I've been given a statement and asked if the statement was my opinion of the play.

- so do I have to agree/disagree with the statement, and back it up with evidence?
- is it appropriate if I use personal pronouns, and say it like: "I believe...blah blah blah..." and "we know this is completely false...."
- does it have to be formal?
- do I need to use techniques when I talk about quotes?

If anyone can help me out, I'll be really thankful =]

Gigacube

HSC
Yes you need to back up your opinion of the statement. You should use inclusive language as this is a speech not an essay.

If you have trouble writing a speech you could write it as an essay first and then change it to a speech.

Use anecdotes and rhetorical questions.

If your assessment task didn't say who the audience is then write your speech to a group of senior high school students.

You need to use techniques when you talk about quotes & the effect they have.

SpiralFlex

HSC
N/A
I am certainly no expert on speeches, but these were the words from our teacher plus my advice.

• Apart from the obvious, I think it would be best depending on the statement you agree with it, as it may contain a lot of points to argue.

• Now, depending on the question I think speeches should maintain some level of formality and a level of personal opinion. It would probably be appropriate to use "I" a couple of times.

• Stage 6 English, you MUST use TECHNIQUES and QUOTES to back up your arguments.