CPA requirements (1 Viewer)

mojako

HSC
Does any of you know much about the requirements to get CPA?

I'm doing a double degree which is not listed on http://www.cpacareers.com.au/study_options/acc_course_search.asp.
Will this still be ok (if I do all the required courses/subjects as for the usual comm students)?

My degree is BCom/BEngineering. BCom/BScience should be in a similar situation because it's also not accredited and has the same program structure:
4 core courses (no need for QMA and QMB), 8 major courses, 4 minor courses, no options, no gen-eds.

What will be my option if they don't accept this BCom/BEng?

I emailed them but no reply yet.

Also, out of CPA and CA, which one do you think is better?

Thanks.

jase_

Moderator Jase
HSC
Usually they don't list the combined degrees on the site, just the single degree (in your case BComm). I think if you meet the subject requirements on your BComm side, it should be fine. Like with my course, its not listed on there either (and same with all the other BBusiness combined degrees), but it's still fine.

mojako

HSC
but they list unsw comm/arts double degree and also comm/laws

do u know if u can also substitute subjects?
they have ECON1203 on the list (for normal unsw comm students) but my double degree doesnt require me to do that (its substituted with maths and statistics).
will CPA have the final say on whether to approve or not, or if I can get UNSW to say that the other subject is equivalent to ECON1203, CPA will have to accept it?

Grizzly

euphoric
HSC
My guess is that CPA wouldn't see it as a problem.

http://www.accounting.unsw.edu.au/n...leArea&maxWnd=_Future_ProfessionalRecognition

Note. ECON1203 is compulsary for a COMM degree.
And also;

Associate membership of CPA Australia requires an accredited undergraduate degree with a major in accounting and in the case of UNSW, the completion of the courses listed below.
Required Courses

ACCT2522 Management Accounting: Process Improvement and Innovation