Another actuarial query =/ (1 Viewer)

gurmies

Drover
HSC
Hey guys, i'm sure you're getting sick of the influx of actuary wannabe threads so i'll stick to the point. I want to do actuarial studies, and whilst I hear it's taught infinitely better at Macquarie and ANU, I have been travelling long distances for the many years of high school and would like to go to UNSW (which isn't too far from where I live). However, what i'm not a fan of is the fact that I have to do B/Com and major in actuarial studies. I'm not exactly sure what this means? It has this somewhat negative stigma attatched to it which suggests to me that there will be very little maths and not too much actuary theory. I am not sure if this predispoisition of mine is justifiable, but at Macq and ANU they have specific actuarial studies courses. Could someone shed a little light on how it's done at UNSW? Is it possible also to combine the advanced mathematics course (which I see has quantitative risk) with actuarial studies (or commerce/actuary major)? Thank you very much for your time =]

tallkid34

In 25 words or less
HSC
However, what i'm not a fan of is the fact that I have to do B/Com and major in actuarial studies. I'm not exactly sure what this means? It has this somewhat negative stigma attatched to it which suggests to me that there will be very little maths and not too much actuary theory. I am not sure if this predispoisition of mine is justifiable, but at Macq and ANU they have specific actuarial studies courses.
Even though you do actuarial studies under commerce, actuarial kids have their own specific courses (MATH courses) to do. The name doesn't mean anything. You'll still be doing a shitload of difficult maths anyway. There is no negative stigma attached as well as no one cares.