Am I being ripepd of? (1 Viewer)

davidbarnes

Trainee Mȯderatȯr
HSC
Got a new job (and it is great, best ever, although I took a pay cut to accept it), 12 month contract fulltime. For those 12 months I will be 17 for 6 weeks, 18 for 46 weeks. I am being paid $10.41 an hour (for the full 12 months). is thsi below minimum wage.

greekgun

HSC
Dunno if its under min wage but it depends on how u look at the situation. Im 18 now and im getting paid like 14 or so dollars, and 18 (i think) on a sunday. So compared to that ur pay is fairly shit. But, it seems u like ur job, which means that ur job will come with less stress, the time will fly cuz u like wat ur doing and u have some job security because ur locked in a contract.

greekgun

HSC
Just curious, u said u accepted a pay cut to get the job, wat was the rate originally?

davidbarnes

Trainee Mȯderatȯr
HSC
Not for this job sorry. I meant my old job which I left to take this one payed better.

adnan91

HSC
Im not an expert but 10.40 full time 12 months contract is a rip off it should be atleast 15+ man espically for 18 year old. Im 17 and a casual and make $21.10 an hour but not computer draftman. But i rkn ull gain some really good experience

JaredR

Save Sderot
HSC
When you're on a 12 month contract that pay is a joke. I would not accept it.

savio23q

Band
HSC
Generally, full-time and part-time workers get less than casuals, so I'd say you're not really being ripped off. Sure, you can earn a bit more in other places but you have a full-time contract here. Are you entitled to any other benefits? i.e. holidays, sick days etc..

zomg said:
holy crap, what do you do?

im 17 and i earn 9.50 an hour :S
This is guy is being ripped off..lol
Where do you work? I'm 17, almost 18 and I earn $11.27

Last edited:

goony

i am here to ride bike
HSC