Year 12 Maths- 2U or Ext.1? (1 Viewer)

JT145

ON is my homeboy
HSC
I'm finding myself in quite a unique spot here

I've always been decent at maths, not always in the top 4/5 in my year but almost always in the top ten (out of around 70)

However this year in Extension 1 I've been getting 34 and 44% in my tests, for the second one I studied 16 hours (but didn't allow myself enough time for Trig however, this isn't doing easy papers and stuff as well, I was being challenged with some questions.

Also I find that I get the 2U stuff but not the 3U stuff as much as I find my friends are, I get the principle but not the harder applications.

I'm hoping to pass my end of year test, but ATM I'm ranked about 13th out of 17 people in my Ext 1 class. Not exactly a large chunk off my previous year's score but still.

My 2U is fine, I got around 77% in both tests, ranked about 8th, it's just Extension I'm worried about.

Should I do it next year or just drop to 2U? All the people below me are considering dropping to 2U, but I'm afraid if I drop there I'll might lose some motivation, and I've previously set the standard in my grade so perception-wise it's not awesome either.

Any feedback would be much appreciated. :)

HSC
Well it really depends...

Since your going well and understanding 2U I don't see any reason why you wouldn't keep Ext 1 maths. If you weren't understanding 2U nor 3U i'd say go down to 2U but that's not your case.

If you think you can achieve a higher mark in 2U (say in the 90%+ Range) concentrating only on the 2U work and dropping Ext 1, I think it would be in your best interest to drop and achieve the highest mark possible in 2U.

Are you dropping any of your prelim subjects next year?

Last edited:

JT145

ON is my homeboy
HSC
Well it really depends...

Since your going well and understanding 2U I don't see any reason why you wouldn't keep Ext 1 maths. If you weren't understanding 2U nor 3U i'd say go down to 2U but that's not your case.