Why you must do 4u maths (1 Viewer)

wuddie

Black by Demand
HSC
Great news, you've picked to learn 4u maths now, and saved yourselves from failure in 1st year uni, especially if you do a science, engineering course.

1st year maths in uni is basically 4u maths, in fast forward. the lecturers teach it very quickly, they don't give it a damn if you don't get it. in the first 3 weeks, we've done 2 topics of 4u maths, complex numbers and graphing. now try and compare that with how long you spent on them at school.

physics is even worse, it is ALL maths, there is no concept understanding at all, it is all about mechanics and calculus - if you master those, you've caned 1st year physics.

so yes, spend a bit more time on your maths, it is absolutely worth your while. you'll be grateful that you've done 4u maths once you're in uni.

Sparcod

Hello!
HSC
Damnit! I did 4u maths and I'm studying Commerce.
The only maths I get are addition, subtraction, multiplication and division. No conics and complex numbers crap.

I wouldn't say that uni maths is all 4u maths-related. Depends on which level MATH you chose. I can't believe that 2 years of maths gets covered in only 5 weeks.

Trebla

Administrator
Administrator
HSC
If you choose to study maths (not financial or statistical maths) or science in uni, then you will go through and beyond the Extension 2 course. Particularly, if you study advanced levels of mathematics in uni, then some parts the Extension 2 course are basically rushed throughout the first few weeks because it is assumed knowledge (well at least for usyd it is, I'm pretty sure it is more or less similar for the other universities).

Captain Gh3y

Rhinorhondothackasaurus
HSC
wuddie said:
Great news, you've picked to learn 4u maths now, and saved yourselves from failure in 1st year uni, especially if you do a science, engineering course.