What does a Bachelor of Commerce entail? (1 Viewer)

acemusic415

HSC
Hey guys, like the question states what does it actually encompass?

The other day, I was watching a new television series called Suits and it was essentially, the world of corporate law and top tier law firms. I have never been actually interested in corporate law and the economics/business/commerce field. However, I was pondering other career paths and I felt that doing something in the business world wouldn't be too bad, despite the fact I have no knowledge regarding this field evidenced by my subject selection. I originally had in mind an International Studies degree combined with Law but at this point, it is subject to change.

Having said that, what is a Commerce degree? What is the actual distinction betwen Commerce, Business and an Economics degree? Can anybody explain? That said, I really do enjoy my art subjects such as English and languages. Would it be possible to chose that as an elective, if I ended up doing a combined degree of Commerce/Law?

My other concern I needed clarifying is the level of Mathematics needed. The UAC 2012 guide states that it is assumed to know 2U Maths but I don't do any maths at all - I despise Maths. If I happen to choose this degree, will not having done Maths severely disadvantage my understanding and approach to the course. That said, I read that for a Commerce degree, you can have two majors to select. Obviously, I would choose Commercial Law and what would another appropriate major I should choose?

Cheers, sorry for this long ass post.

Absolutezero

real human bean
HSC
N/A
Hey guys, like the question states what does it actually encompass?

Having said that, what is a Commerce degree?
A Commerce degree basically covers the wide range of fields involve in business practice.

What is the actual distinction betwen Commerce, Business and an Economics degree? Can anybody explain?