• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

What careers could these majors in econs/commerce lead to? (1 Viewer)

danielvh

HSC
Hey

I'm currently in first year at UWA studying Econs/Commerce. I'm wondering what sorts of careers (and what sorts of starting salaries) I could be looking at with the following majors/minors that I'm planning to do (yep it's a lot but I've worked it out to be possible):

Majors:
Economics
Quantitative Economics
International Business Economics
Economic History
Management
Human Resource Management

Minor:
Asian Business

I'm a good student and will hopefully get a Distinction or even High Distinction average and will probably do honours.

I MAY end up changing The management/HR Management majors to Finance (corporate) and finance (investment) if I find I enjoy the field when I do intro to finance first semester next year.

Cheers

Daniel

danielvh

HSC
Also, how valuable are management/hr management majors? I know they're not the sort of thing that would land me a graduate job (unless you count woolies or coles ;)) but I'm under the impression that they'd provide skills that are easily transferable to any career and would make it easier to move up in a company?

Also, how's information management as a major? Useful?

Vagabond

Machine
HSC
Just remember that commerce is essentially an arts degree; management being one of the more airy lines of study.

Ask yourself now. Do you learn management skills from a textbook or from real-world experience?

And there you shall find the answer as to why there are no graduate management positions.

The only major in a Commerce degree that is a must (if you're interested in that line of work) is Accounting due to its CA/CPA prerequisites, and quantitative areas like Actuarial studies.