USyd's Veterinary Science Courses? (1 Viewer)

LeadTaco

HSC
N/A
As a year 12 student, I've recently been looking at some uni courses, and pretty much since I was a little kid, I've been wanting to do a Veterinary Course.
The only veterinary courses from the NSW major unis I can find are at USyd; the BACHELOR OF ANIMAL AND VETERINARY BIOSCIENCE and The Bachelor of Veterinary Biology/Doctor of Veterinary Medicine (BVetBiol/DVM)

So what I want to know is what's different between these degrees in terms of coursework, job prospects, etc.
Also, for the BVetBiol/DVM your required to get an ATAR and do the STAT, while they show that you need a 150/200 for the STAT, they don't really provide a minimum ATAR, so what would approximately be the cut-of, or what was it in previous courses.

Thanks a lot :)

LeadTaco

HSC
N/A
Answering your first question: Bachelor of Animal and Veterinary Bioscience -> animal scientist whereas Bachelor of Veterinary Biology/Doctor of Veterinary Medicine -> registered veterinarian. So it depends what you want to do in the future. I believe the Bachelor of Veterinary Biology/Doctor of Veterinary Medicine would be more focused on the biology of animals specifically and how to operate on them, so really an animal equivalent to taking medicine.
Thanks a lot :)

I will add to this post if I find the answer to your second question. :)
A friend recently told me that the ATAR for this course would be around 98, does this sound right?

LeadTaco

HSC
N/A