USyd LAW VS ANU LAW (1 Viewer)

Bananapyjama

HSC
Posted this in the ANU boards aswell, but just posting it here for a second opinion... well here goes

Hey all, My name is Nick and I graduated last year with a UAI of 99.65. I'm currently on a GAP year, living with my family in Canberra and working full time and wish to study Commerce/Law at University next year. My heart has been set on the University of Sydney ever since the beginning of year 12. I was stoked naturally, when I realised I made it in, and deferred my offer for a year of work- in order to have some money as security once I'm down in Sydney (I hear its expensive there).

The reason I am making this thread however, is because I'm starting to have a tinge reluctance in moving to Sydney. Firstly, and mainly, the money factor. I think I will easily be able to support myself, however I'd rather not sacrifice my university results in doing so, I'd prefer to have no job whilst studying. Also I'm not sure if I'm ready to move away from home yet.

In light of the above, I've began considering staying here in Canberra and studying Commerce/Law at ANU. Is this course prestigious? How would it compared to USyd? I really want to work in a top class law firm in the future, will my chances be deterred by studying Law at ANU instead of the University of Sydney (which I hear is the best in Australia for law).

One thing thats keeping me away from Law at ANU is the cut-off needed (its only 95)
Most prestigious G8 Universities require 98+ (UNSW, USyd, UQ, Monash etc)

However, ANU is only a 95? Why is that? I sort of feel as if I'd be wasting my ENTER if I went there. And since the cutoff is low, are law firms reluctant to take on ANU law grads. Is the quality of the law course as good as other G8 Universities?

Also with a 99.45, am I eligible for any scholarships at ANU?