Teachers Abilities... (1 Viewer)

would you question yourself?

• Yes

Votes: 27 75.0%
  • No

Votes: 1 2.8%
  • It is the students fault

Votes: 6 16.7%
  • It is not my problem, im just a teacher...

Votes: 2 5.6%

• Total voters

scoby_2000

HSC
I'm curious

if you were a maths teacher...and your class got a 32% average

wouldnt you question your ability as a teacher?

my class is 25 people and we are not the brightest nor the dumbest...but seriously?

I think if i were a teacher i would perhaps question my ability

(note....this is not a one off for this teacher)

EDIT: this was 2U CSSA

HSC
Yes, I would.

I don't believe it us up to the student as maths requires lots of visualizations. Learning where things are derived from, physics software ipt (my other subjects) i can teach myself as i only need to know whats there.
I can relate to having a bad maths teacher. However I now have a tutor and i'm doing well. I suggest you find a good (1 on 1) tutor and get ahead of your class.

scoby_2000

HSC
i do, ive been having tutoring for ages every sunday for 2hrs

and i did fkn 12 past papers

i think i just suck :(

Sepulchres

t3h sultan
HSC
I wouldnt. Perhaps the desire of doing well in a test is not there in the group? I know what its like to have a bad teacher but then I also know what its like to have people in your class who dont give a fuck. I think its a combination of the two which has resulted in that avg.

LostAuzzie

HSC
Well Id say it depends on the difficulty of the test,
Like if as a teacher I set a test which I felt was easy and the class average was 32% Id start to consider whether my teaching methods were adequate

But in your case with the CSSA where the averages in other schools are seeming to be much Higher I would definitely be questioning my ability as a teacher

scoby_2000

HSC
i was the third highest in my class with 45%

one person passed and she got 60%

in hindsight i didnt think the test was that hard