Strange/stupid overall grade (1 Viewer)

jasonml

jay son em el
HSC
So for BIOL1002 (principles of ecology) we had 6 asssessments throughout the semester (including mid-semester exam and final exam). my marks and weighting turned out like this:

Assessment 1 - ?/20
Assessment 2 - 4/5
Assessment 3 - 6/10
Assessment 4 - 18/15
Assessment 5 - 5/5
Assessment 6 - ?/45

for assessments 1 and 6 (which were my mid semester, and final exams), our marks were not released.

Two weeks ago, when our final grades were released I got a PASS, with no specific mark (i.e. it wasn't like "PASS, 62.00" or whatever, just "PASS")

Now, tbh I have no idea how I ended up with this grade. I studied pretty hard all semester for this subject, I went to every single lecture, tutorial and lab, I took a LOT of notes. I felt like I had a good understanding of the whole course, and always got high marks in all the tutorials, homework, etc.

For assessments 2-5 I studied pretty hard, except for assessment 3 which I did the night before. For both exams I felt as though I went just as well as I did in all of my other assessments, especially in the final exam which I put a lot of work into. Not to sound like a dickhead, but by the end of the semester I was expecting a Distinction, and at worst a Credit.

I tried to appeal the grade last week, but I got a call back from the LIC today (are they even allowed to do this?) saying "No, you got a pass. You should be happy with this blah blah, 25% of the people in this course failed. You only got 53% in your final exam."

I think this is bullshit. In that final exam, there was NO WAY I went that badly. Maybe I over-estimated how well I felt, but I seriously cant see how I would have gotten below 60%. Also, when I asked him about why he hadn't released our marks for that exam, he wouldn't give me a direct answer.

What do you guys think? What should I be doing now?

Last edited:

artist91

HSC