St John's College Interview (1 Viewer)

wheel

HSC
Hey. everyone,

I was recently asked to have an interview for St John's College for next year, as I am a rural student and cannot make it into the university I will be doing it over the phone.

Just wondering if anyone has any tips or hints? I am excited for both the interview and the opportunity to live there next year, I just don't want to stuff up!

Also, anyone who does live at St John's (or any colleges in fact) how does it rate?

Thanks heaps,

wheel

LoveHateSchool

Retired Sept '14
HSC
Uni Grad
Hey. everyone,

I was recently asked to have an interview for St John's College for next year, as I am a rural student and cannot make it into the university I will be doing it over the phone.

Just wondering if anyone has any tips or hints? I am excited for both the interview and the opportunity to live there next year, I just don't want to stuff up!

Also, anyone who does live at St John's (or any colleges in fact) how does it rate?

Thanks heaps,

wheel
Hey there, I was also a rural student so I did college interviews over phone/skype depending. And I am a current USYD college student.

I did not apply for St Johns, so I do not know the *exact* interview process there.

General Tips:
*Be confident
*Listen to the questions carefully so as to not do a ramble-y response
*Do your research on the college (I'll elaborate further down here)
What I anticipate they'd ask you:
*Academics-how you went in school, what you hope to study at uni, do you have a back up course, long term plan for tertiary study/career etc.
*Do you work/do you plan to work during uni?
*What are your attitudes to alcohol?
*Sport-Do you play any sports/to what level?
*Arts/Culture-Do you do any cultural activities/to what level?

These questions than normally lead to questions like:
*What events/programs would you like to get involved in at college?