Simpson's Rule (1 Viewer)

emanuel

Is there a difference between the way the Simpson's Rule is given in 2 unit and Extension 1. Because I am a 3 unit student and find myself getting questions about this wrong in 2 unit papers, the Simpson's Rule as I learned it is as follows:
(1/6)(b-a)(f(a) + 4f((a+b)/2) + f(b))

Not sure if perhaps the 2 unit course has a different expression for it?

acmilan

I'll stab ya
HSC
N/A
er the above formula only works when there are 3 function values, what if they give you 4 or 5 or 6 or more? (which is highly possible) I dont know what you mean by 2 and 3 unit version, there should only be one version.

Dreamerish*~

Love Addict - Nakashima
HSC
There's another way.

I'm also do 3U, but I didn't know the two rules were categorised as 2U and 3U rules. :confused:

h/3.[y0 + yn + 4(y1 + y3 + ... all the other odd function values) + 2(y2 + y4 + ... all the other even function values)]

I always found that one easier.

EDIT: Acmilan's right. I rememeber someone telling me that the h/6 formula only works for 3 function values, and if there are more than 3, you need to repeat it.

Now I realise why I found the h/3 formula easier. :p

Last edited:

laurel18

Keep smiling Ü
HSC
way i learnt it:

h/3 [(y0 + yn) +4 (y1 + y3 + y5+...) + 2(y2 + y4 + y6+...)]

where h is the width

but i don't suggest you learn it this way as you might get confused in exam...

Dreamerish*~

Love Addict - Nakashima
HSC
laurel18 said:
way i learnt it:

h/3 [(y0 + yn) +4 (y1 + y3 + y5+...) + 2(y2 + y4 + y6+...)]

where h is the width

but i don't suggest you learn it this way as you might get confused in exam...
This way is much less confusing, in my opinion.

The h/6 method words three function values at a time. Therefore if he gets a question with nine funtion values, he has to do three calculations, whereas with the h/3 formula, you can input everything into one and just let your calculator do the work.

The important thing is not to get h/3 and h/6 mixed up.