Short Answer (1 Viewer)

elmio023

HSC
Im no expert on short answers but this is how I would answer it. What are all your thoughts? How would you mark this? Any help greatly appreciated :)

Kent uses imagery to portray the human experience of responding to the animal cruelty and more broadly the sins of one's family. The sensory image "the day was hot" symbolises the sense of being uncomfortable with the upcoming pig-slaughter via pathetic fallacy. The auditory image of the pig's "frantic squealing" connotes the narrators sense of empathy with the pain of the pig rather than her family who are killing it. The visual imagery of the sister "clamp[ing] her hands over her ears" symbolises an inability to rationalise the actions of of family killing pig, leading to symbolically closing inner self off to them and the wider world. This is contrasted with the idyllic naturalistic images of"nut trees. Fruit trees vines," projecting a future where sisters live in harmony with nature rather than killing domesticated animals. The close proxemics in the visual image of "we will sit next to each other in church" symbolise a connection between the two sisters as they work together in a new future that rejects the killing of animals promulgated by their families. Moreover, the symbolic image of a "tight fierce hug" reveals their reliance on each other whilst reconciling with the actions of family.

user18181818

HSC
Im no expert on short answers but this is how I would answer it. What are all your thoughts? How would you mark this? Any help greatly appreciated :)