Selection rank for transferring uni student? (1 Viewer)

Lilpiggie0522

HSC
Hi yall, I am just curious about how selection rank works for current uni students who wish to transfer to another uni, let's say UNSW.

I am currently a bachelor student studying bachelor of software engineering at Uni of Canberra. I now have completed my first year at Uni of Canberra with 8 units (1 full time equivalent load) completed. I am trying to get myself transferred to UNSW for bachelor of computer science. I have got an honours degree in mechanical engineering before the software engineering degree I am currently studying but that was back in 2017. Yes I am probably the oldest guy on this forum...

My question is since I have not done any high-school educations in Australia, (yes I was an international student who later obtained Australian permanent residency, my story is a bit complicated...) and the GPA for the engineering degree I have done was pretty much around credit average, despite that I have a 7/7 GPA and 96 WAM for my current study at Uni of Canberra. Would that put me in a huge disadvantage since I am competing with a bunch of brilliant Aussie kids?

And how exactly does GPA to selection rank conversion work? I tried to scoop as much info as I could from UAC and UNSW, whether it's over the phone or via e-mails, they just won't reveal any info regarding matrix or methods of their GPA conversion for selection rank.

Cheers guys, any info related to this topic would be appreciated.

Last edited:

jimmysmith560

Le Phénix Trilingue
HSC
Uni Grad
Your application to the Bachelor of Science (Computer Science) at UNSW will be assessed based on your academic results and whether those meet or exceed UNSW's requirements. This means that admission into this degree is dependent on meeting said requirements, i.e.:
  • If you meet them, you will receive an offer to study this degree.
  • If you don't meet them, you will not receive an offer to study this degree.