School Assessment Policy (1 Viewer)

xxJTxx

HSC
Hiya,

I'm a Year 12 Student, who has entered ASSESSMENT LAND this term. Something that has been bugging me about assessments is that in our school assessment policy, it states that "teachers are to give students two weeks notification of the official date of an assessment task". Of course, that same assessment policy has in it all of the "weeks" an assessment is in, but not the "official date" which is what it says.

Of course, I knew from many months back that in Week Two of this term I'd have a 3U component B test. But, there was no notification of the official date, what content was in it etc until today (not two weeks). I have had previous encounterments with my school and this 'policy' of theres, when we haven't been given two weeks notice, and each and every friggen time, i've been told "You should have known this assessment was coming up"...well FRIGGEN duh I knew, but i'd still like notification of the date, what topics or at least what outcomes are being tested. The last time I made a formal appeal to the principal/school board, I was given the same reason I mentioned above.

I find myself constantly checking my assessment manual, and having to remind my teachers that assessments are coming up and we need notification for it to be two weeks. Not my duty, but I do it anyway. Unfortunately, i'm not a fan of my maths teacher, and so I didn't even bother reminding him before the easter break (cause i knew he would forget and thought i'd have a shot at getting an extra week to study lol)...but I doubt they will give us more time.

What is your school assess policy on how much official notification? Has an assessment been shifted into another week for you? If so, was this via formal appeal or casual talkings with the teacher concerned?