Q's about Aeronautical(Space) Engineering (1 Viewer)

comp247

HSC
Hi I'm a 08 HSC student who is desperate of some info for the uni choices. I got 99.65 and am interested in the aeronautical(space) engineering course at USyd. Can anyone, preferably those in the course, give me some general info about the course?
I want to go to NASA if I get into this course. What are the possibilities of that being achieved? Or any other space organisations. I dont mind going international.
Also, how are the job prospects? I heard the it's not that great in Australia but to get into these major agencies, you need work experience of around 3 years to be considered.
How are the starting salaries?
And do you just design the same part of an aircraft or space vehicle the rest of your career?
What other jobs can you have with this course?
Do many go into further study after completing their bachelors?
How many drop out or change to other courses? What are the reasons of doing so?
And what are the main differences between Aeronautical, Mechatronics, and Mechanical?
Thanks for your time :)

antarctic

HSC
I want to go to NASA if I get into this course. What are the possibilities of that being achieved?

In my 4 years doing this degree, I haven't heard of it happening. Having said that, I don't see any reason why it can't happen. One thing to keep in mind is that many jobs in NASA will require US citizenship, and it is similar with positions at many other international space agencies (i.e. citizenship of the country running the space agency)

I heard the it's not that great in Australia but to get into these major agencies, you need work experience of around 3 years to be considered.

I haven't heard about that, but I'd say it would depend on the job you were applying for

How are the starting salaries?

http://www.careers.usyd.edu.au/students/forms/GDS2006eng.pdf

However, the data is about 2 years out of date.