Psychology (1 Viewer)

jkie

Anyone doing Arts in Psychology at Syd Uni?
Can you give me some info, good? what you do? hard? alot of work? UAI mark entry? Just give information.

Cheers

moderngirl

HSC
I don't quite get what you mean by arts in psychology. Do you mean taking arts subjects within a Bachelor of Psychology degree?

btw i'm a first year arts student at Usyd.

Minai

Alumni
HSC
Uni Grad
My gf does Psychology under an arts degree here.

There is quite a fair bit of work as the psych subjects, especially in later years, become quite diverse.

moderngirl

HSC
In first year psych in semester one you complete six topics which cover various aspects of psychology from social psychology, neuroscience, personality theory, statistics, etc. I agree that it is quite a lot of work for one subject, a bit different to how i thought psychology would be about. I didn't expect there to be that much science stuff.

timrie6

HSC
N/A
I'm in arts doing psychology 1001 as a subject- uai to get into arts was 83 this year.
I find it really interesting and really not that work at all compared to my arts subjects-
assessments include a short essay, an exam and a few webct quizzes (which u only need to pass to get 100% in). you also have to be experimented on for 4 hours by older psyc students. i think for alot of people, psychology is alot different to their expectations. however I really enjoy it and would reccommend it.

jellybeenz

HSC
Mostly filling out questionaires and computer simulation thingys... its awesome...

I love psych, my fave subject this semester!

llamalope

yes, they're my legs.
Left BOS (somewhat temporarily) on 29/12/05 to ret
HSC
loving it too. Particularly loving the distinction I got for my essay (almost a HD...woohhhoooo) It's a really interesting subject, even if you only do it for first year and never do it again in your life.