Preparing for year 11 SDD? (1 Viewer)

JDurrant

HSC
Hey.

Okay, I did not do Computers in years 9/10 and am looking at doing SDD and IPT. I have never done any programming before (except HTML), although am very good with computers. Have a few questions:

1. I understand they learnt Visual Basic last year- should I learn this myself or is it not needed?

2. What language is taught in year 11? Is it worth having a look at it now before next year?

3. How much maths is required? I am currently about 8th in the 2nd class (of the Advanced course) and will be doing mathematics next year.

Any help appreciated

-John

sunny

meh.
HSC
JDurrant said:
1. I understand they learnt Visual Basic last year- should I learn this myself or is it not needed?
You can learn it yourself to get ahead when its time to do your projects. That way you're not struggling with learning the language and figuring out how to do your project at the same time.

JDurrant said:
2. What language is taught in year 11? Is it worth having a look at it now before next year?
The syllabus does not specify any language to be taught - its up to individual schools on what to teach. Most of the time it just happens to be VB because its easy to learn.

JDurrant said:
3. How much maths is required? I am currently about 8th in the 2nd class (of the Advanced course) and will be doing mathematics next year.
In most cases little to none. (unless you go and write some sort of math related program for your project)

bringbackshred

I AM ANGRY.
HSC
Mate, as long as you have a bit of experience with computers and stuff, you'll be fine. I didn't do any computer courses in 9/10 and I'm coming first in my SDD class at the moment (maybe not such a great achievement, considering the people in it, but still good nonetheless).

Anyways, back to studying for my final SDD prelim exam tomorrow.... :p

HSC
Sup.

JDurrant said: