power play + nineteen eighty-four (1 Viewer)

loz987654321

HSC
hey...this is my first post.
For our HSC Module C that we are starting next term "Representation And Text", the theme is Power Play, and the set text is George Orwell's Nineteen Eighty-Four.
Does anyone have any tips, or help for me? I am a little bit stuck?
I would appreciate any help...
I would be so grateful if you could PM me some pointers.

[[I'll be putting up my Othello forum soon, to help everyone with all the stuff I had to do in yr 11, cuz its so hard...and thats why i need help]]

benedict

HSC
hey there honestly
i dont know much, i would love to help but i need as much help as u
sorry not much point even replying but i am strggling with it too best of luck ♥

holden4ever89

HSC
Ok, prepare for a simple, simple overview. Believe me, once you understand the basics - all you need is specific examples and you can make your answer more indepth. Im going to talk about 1984 because it is what i am studying.

1. THE RUBRIC:

- Representations of power

Examples include the division of the parties -Inner, Outer and Proles. Propaganda and its manipulation of history. 'Big Brother' and how his power is upheld - this is done through fear and control. They live in constant fear of accusation of 'thought-crime, sex-crime, face-crime', vaporisation etc. Goldsteins book, believed to be their only means of rebellion, even that is a falsehood of the party.

- Interplay of power

This is mostly shown in the text through the characters and their relationships. There is an interplay between all 3 divisions - inner, outer parties and the proles. The powerplay that occurs between Julia and Winston is symbolic as they embody values of Orwells context and polar-opposites. Julia is seen as the ideal party member, involved in the anti-sex league and devoted to Big Brother. Yet her and Winston engage in a sexual relationship, because it is the only aspect of life that big brother cannot control.

- Portrayals of power