Portfolios- A quick 'How to' (1 Viewer)

flipsyde

Shutup!...that's why
HSC
Hey there,
I finished my HSC in 2004 and I work in marketing and advertising (I did ITMM), I do basically the web and graphics stuff. Now I've had a LOT of people ask me about portfolios and 'how to' do one so that they can get into uni/college/TAFE or get a job. They also ask about the industrial tech Major Project portfolio, they are similar but different so heres a quick 'how to' on both of them, its more for graphics and web etc, but Im sure you can adapt it to any kind of portfolio.....

The HSC major project portfolio

Be sure to include the following

1. Statement of intent/rationale
2. Initial research (surveys, previous similar ideas etc)
3. Development of idea
4. Selection justification of materials, methods, components etc
5. Time plan
6. Budget plan
7. Use of appropriate industrial equipment
8. Evidence of OHS
9. Evidence of continous evaluation (journal entries etc)
10. Appropriate design or design modification
11. Quality control
12. Research
13. Evidence of a range of skills
14. degree fo difficulty
15. links between planning and production
16. Evidence of industrial processes
17. use of appropriate materials
18. use of appropriate technologies
19. Evidence of solutions to problems within production
20. Conclusion

Your personal Portfolio

A portfolio is basically a collection of your works. You provide the finished prouct in it and sometimes 3 or 4 sketches to back it up... as well as a brief.

But they dont want to see w hole bunch of diary entries or sketches to go with it. Bring that stuff for sure, and make sure it looks all neat and not rough and ready. Offer it to them to see during the interview, but dont make it as part of the portfolio etc.Make sure you put your best works only in it.