Piano obession (1 Viewer)

Dedication_

HSC
Recently I've discovered a passion of mine, thus being piano. I'm literally addicted to it. I've recently deleted my facebook, quit videogames to focus on my studies and have adopted playing the piano to keep me sane through my HSC. Basically what my question is, by learning an instrument does your intelligence someone improve? I feel as if I'm more distinguished that I now play the piano. Thoughts?

madharris

HSC
N/A
I don't think your intelligence improves but your hand eye coordination, concentration, attention to listening probably improves

converge

HSC
N/A
I'm not sure if it alters your intelligence, but it definitely keeps your stress levels down and enables you to perform at your peak academically.

Just curiously, are you learning from a teacher or self-taught?

Dedication_

HSC
Just curiously, are you learning from a teacher or self-taught?
Self-taught, and I know what everyone says, self-teaching yourself piano is a bad idea. But I refuse to pay money to learn from someone else when I'm more than capable of teaching myself with online tutorials and such.

Dedication_

HSC
what can you play
A thousand miles - Vanessa Carlton
Clocks - Coldplay
CKY - 96 Quite Bitter beings
Pendulum - The Island.

A thousand miles is still a work in progress, I wish to start to learn some higher graded songs such as The Turkish March by Mozart but I'm a long way off being that skilled.

Do you play yourself?

Shadowdude

Cult of Personality
HSC
umm, yes i do play

srs question: can you read sheet music

madharris

HSC
N/A
It's only a suggestion but maybe you can get one of your friends to teacher you if any of them play.
Or maybe do lessons like once a fortnight or monthly, just so you know that you're on the right track. Teachers do really help, they teacher you exercises to develop your technique as well as help you play pieces

Thief

!!
HSC