non recent school leaver (1 Viewer)

CloudStrife

HSC
Hey,

I'm in my final year of uni and decided I want to try get into dentistry since I actually want a job where I can see myself helping people and still be paid decently. I recently sat for gamsat for graduate entry into med/dent but found that it was very hard.

Anyone know what sort of criteria is looked at if non-recent school leavers wanted to apply for undergrad dentistry at Umelb or UQ dentistry??? Do you need a really good GPA to even think of applying? I studied a stupidly hard uni course so my marks aren't too awesome.

Slidey

But pieces of what?
HSC
Be interested to know myself mate. I think it varies for each uni and is much more personal - i.e. more like a resume/interview than marks-based.

L337

Made of Win!
HSC
CloudStrife said:
Hey,

I'm in my final year of uni and decided I want to try get into dentistry since I actually want a job where I can see myself helping people and still be paid decently. I recently sat for gamsat for graduate entry into med/dent but found that it was very hard.

Anyone know what sort of criteria is looked at if non-recent school leavers wanted to apply for undergrad dentistry at Umelb or UQ dentistry??? Do you need a really good GPA to even think of applying? I studied a stupidly hard uni course so my marks aren't too awesome.
To get into UQ dent in '07, you needed:

(1) Entry rank 99 (OP 1/GPA 5.8 Group I tertiary institution*, GPA 6.5 Group II institution**) with minimum UMAT score of 170 for a Commonwealth Supported place;
(2) Entry rank 99 (OP 1/GPA 5.8 Group I tertiary institution*, GPA 6.5 Group II institution**) with minimum UMAT score of 156 for a domestic full-fee-paying place;
(3) Entry rank 99 (OP 1/GPA 6.63 Group I tertiary institution*) for an international full-fee paying place.