Newcastle in General... (1 Viewer)

clairine73

Sleepy :P
HSC
Hi guys, i'm a total novice with a shitty computer so don't send me to other threads plz!

Just a few questions...
Anyone at on-campus accom. this year, is it recommended? ppl laid back?, and are there any stereotypes of people from each 'house' or whatever they're called?

Also, is the city itself easy to get around by car/public transport? (I'm a crap driver, from what I read I'll just be adding to a problem?) And how often do you guys go to Sydney?

Lastly, how's the shopping?

Thanks guys, I'm going in 07, just planning ahead/ getting a feel for it.

PrincessSJ

Work. Inn. Buy Shoes
HSC
I'm not living on campus, so can't answer that one

The city is reasonably easy to get around by car and public transport, watch out for stupid one way streets.. but on a bus, you'll be fine..

I go to Sydney nearly every weekend, but thats because my boyfriend is down there... generally tho, there's not really a need to go to Sydney.. unless you have something specific to go there for...

The shopping is not A-Grade, but its also not devastating...There's a few main shopping centres, with all the basic major chains.. but for nice shopping check out some of the boutiques on Darby St. (in town) Westfield Tuggerah is only 40mins down the road and has a little more choice.. and Westfield Hornsby is only a little further than that for a little more choice...

Good luck!

mrbassman

0.38 posts per day...meh
HSC
on campus is awesome. im not sure what you mean by stereotypes because there are all kinds of people that live here. laid back? yes at times. other times it is crazy

vodkacrumble

shiftworker
HSC
i did my first year of uni at newcastle and i loved living there (only t/f because i didn't like the course, but loved the uni and the place)