Mean something (1 Viewer)

LiveForever28

HSC
I want a job that has meaning. I dont care about money. Ive had enough money in my life to know its just paper. Im studying to be a teacher cos i thought that would be something right. But with each passing lecture, and my teachers making it abundantly clear how rigid and structured the process is, im starting to wonder maybe i wont really be helping people at all.

Theres to much suffering in the world. Whats something i could do where id be happy to wake up the next day knowing that what i was doing was meaningful?

scarybunny

Rocket Queen
HSC
Yeah I don't feel that way about teaching at all.

Next semester I'll be tutoring refugees as part of my degree. Awesome.

Absolutezero

real human bean
HSC
N/A
It depends what counts as meaningful to you. Possible choices:
-Doctor
-Tutor
-Artist
-Financial Advisor
-Counsellor
-Childcare
-Charity Officer

To really make a difference, you pretty much have to get into the community of what you are trying to fix. Usually this will mean you'll undertake many roles, and not be tied necessarily to one specific job description.

naisAtoN

Awesome Member
HSC
Feel free to send any excess "paper" my way.

Last edited:

ambermorn

Tic Tac addict.
HSC
N/A
Teaching does have meaning, IMHO. Yes, it may not seem that way with all the theory and structure now (trust me, I feel the same way with psych!), but when you get out there and teach and potentially impact on childrens lives - that has meaning.

You may teach some ratbags of children, but there will be always those who appreciate what they are learning. Many students will see you as not just a teacher, but a confidant and mentor (of course, you have duty of care with them too). And many years after they graduate, they will all remember you, stop you in supermarkets and shops and thank you for teaching them and impacting on their lives.