Is this happened to you? (1 Viewer)

Yang_Science

HSC
I am a chinese hsc student who finished hsc in class of '04. I like science very much especially for biology. I have tranditioonal parents. They always say that im lazy studying or didnt study hard in high school ... ...but the fact is that my math (both 3U/4u) are top in the school. and main problem between me and them now is uni degree choice. I apply for general science degree at any univeristies in australia, then transfer to Usyd to do 2 and 3rd year medical science. But my parents think it is stupid beacuse medicial science is not as popular as commerce in chinese community. What they want me to do is commerce degrees but i really hate economics (i dropped it in year 12. I found it is the worst course that i had cuz i dont like too much essays and reading, and my eco teacher is bad who says something bad to my friend behind my back)... Do ur guys really think as what my parents metion that im too stupid to study medical science? Should I do what they want me to do??? Why do chinese parents design their kid's life, however OZ parents let their kids do what their kids want to do? Are u prond that u r a Chinese even if u r ABC. I was born in China, but came here several years ago........sometimes i ask myself: why am i a chinese? Its shit to be a chinese.....for me, i never prond of that.......Beacuse china is not a smart country such as its policy or govenment and so on.....

ur_inner_child

.%$^!@&^#(*!?.%$^?!.
HSC
Don't bag your background first of all. Recognise that it is "culture clash" not that the Chinese culture is "stupid."

But yeah I understand what you're going through, except I want to do B Music, not B Commerce. You can imagine how crazy my parents feel.

The thing is they're afraid for you. They want the best for you. They probably also want to "fit in" and look prestigious... as in "Well my daughter is doing B Commerce etc"