Is it possible to transfer from med science uws to usyd/unsw/uts?? (1 Viewer)

LolaBell

HSC
I was thinking of accepting my early offer at uws but just read a post that u can't transfer from med science uws to these other unis?? Is this true? Or has anyone on here done so

Riproot

#MedLyf
HSC
Uni Grad
It's very difficult to do so since all of the courses are very structured and all the unis do different first year subjects and stuff. So if you want to transfer I would suggest BSc(Adv) at UWS and then looking at USyd or UNSW MedSc first year outline and basing your units around which one you would like to transfer to more.

I have an outline of both degrees in a table on the site here somewhere but I cbf finding it now.
All the info you need is on the uni websites.

Dylanamali

HSC
I was thinking of accepting my early offer at uws but just read a post that u can't transfer from med science uws to these other unis?? Is this true? Or has anyone on here done so
It's definitely possible and I'd say it's rather achievable..
Achieve a high GPA e.g. 6.0+ and you should be in with a good chance.

The thing is - and I think it's what Riproot is referring to - it's rather unlikely that you'll get credited for the units you've studied at UWS. That is, you may have to start from first year again. I'm sure you'll get at least 1 unit credited e.g. Chemistry, but not sure about the others.

passionxmusic

HSC
N/A
Applies to many courses from UWS - the course structure there is so different. Eg. at Sydney and UTS, accounting is split into two different units; same with economics. At Sydney we have two fundamental chemistry units etc. I think you should make the most of the UWS Medical Science degree ~ UWS is not that bad. If you don't enjoy it then you will be motivated to try your hardest to transfer. Good Luck and All the Best. :D

Riproot

#MedLyf
HSC
Uni Grad
It's definitely possible and I'd say it's rather achievable..