• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Induction Involving Trigonometric Terms (1 Viewer)

ssglain

HSC
A friend of mine recently showed me some questions she got from her tutoring college on proof by mathematical induction that involved trigonometric terms. I've never seen this type of questions before in any of my text books (Cambridge & Margret Grove, both Yrs 11 & 12) but according to my friend they are questions from previous HSC exams. I don't think I'd like to walk into my exam some eight months down the track to be faced with question types that I have no experience with. Does anyone know of text books that teach this type of questions?

P

pLuvia

Fitzpatrick might have some, don't really remember. But just look at past HSC questions they are sure to have some.

They're not hard at all, follows all the same concepts and procedures just requires some manipulation and use of the double angle and half angle formulae

haque

HSC
try some of the 4u induction and look at the 3u paper from last year-it had one-but the trig ones are much easier than they may look-it's all a psychological thing.

ssglain

HSC
Thanks for the suggestions. I'll try Fitzpat and those 4U ones. I've just looked through the past Ext-1 papers from 1994-2003 but I couldn't find any - I must be going blind or something..

haque: I'm very envious of your Bsc(Adv)/MBBS at USyd. Congrats, mate.

haque

HSC