• Want to help us with this year's BoS Trials?
    Let us know before 30 June. See this thread for details
  • Looking for HSC notes and resources?
    Check out our Notes & Resources page

Improving my employability. Suggestions? (1 Viewer)

danielvh

HSC
Hey guys

I'm a first year uni student at UWA doing Economics and Commerce double degree. It's a 4.5 year degree (5.5 if I do honours)

So, have the scope to do up to 5 majors. Currently probably doing economics, international business economics, asian business, management and marketing.

I want to try and eventually, once I leave uni, get a graduate position at one of three types of jobs (havn't decided yet which I want to go for):
1) Economics: State/federal treasury, productivity commission
2) Management consultancy. Large global firm
3) Foreign affairs. Department of foreign affairs.

My majors pretty much reflect these three options.
For option 1: Economics, International Business Economics
For option 2: Management. And I think economics, international business economics, Asian Business and marketing might be beneficial
For option 3: Asian Business and International Business Economics

So, I'm looking for suggestions on how to improve my employability. I'll list below what I've done so far:

- Getting D's and HD's in all subjects. I'm going to try to move this to all HD category.
- Have achieved the top mark in the unit for one of my units (Foundations of Asian Business). And 90% in microeconomics. This semester it's going to be all mid-low 80s and high 70s.
- TER (equivalent to HSC) of 98
- Backpacked solo around south east asia and Europe for 6 months last year (I figure this will help particulalry with dept of foreign affairs and generally showing maturity etc with others)
- While on backpacking trip, volunteered as an English teacher for a week in spain.