if you want to apply for external uni transfer, does uac examine your overall wam or just the most recent wam from your most recent uni? (1 Viewer)

cloudyair

HSC
N/A
If I’m studying at USYD and I want to do an internal transfer but I’m unable to due to a low Wam. Is the best solution, is to do external transfer out to another uni? And then transfer back into the course I want to at USYD? Or what over options do i have?

And if so, would UAC just base the results into my new uni. Or would it also take into consideration of the marks I’ve acquired at USYD previously to calculate if I would get an offer or not? does scaling matter or not? eg. certain unis? certain electives?

jimmysmith560

Le Phénix Trilingue
HSC
Uni Grad
You could attempt an internal transfer to a different course at USyd, perform well in that course, and then transfer to your desired course internally again. However, this would mean studying an unrelated degree, which would likely undermine recognition of prior learning and in turn force you to start your desired course at an unnecessarily early point. Based on this, attempting an external transfer to a related course at a different university, performing well in that course, and subsequently transferring to the equivalent course at USyd would be a better course of action, especially since it is more likely for USyd to recognise your previous studies in a similar course at a different university compared to an unrelated course.