How I went from being a D-student to scoring a 95+ ATAR (at a public school) (1 Viewer)

LuqmanA

HSC
Hey everyone!

My name is Luqman, and I graduated the HSC in 2022.

I am writing this thread to inspire those who are doubting their ability to score the ATAR of their dreams...

Those who are disadvantaged and don't go to the best schools...

And those who have never had the best grades.

Table of contents:

• I am going to share with you my story of how I went from being a D student who had no hope of academic success, to scoring a 95+ ATAR - at a 300+ ranked public school and lower scaling subjects.

• 3 key lessons I want you to take away

• Action steps I want you to take.

This is going to be a long one, but I wish I had another student like me sharing their story of how they went from failing to success when I was in year 12. I wish had I a student who didn't go to a good school, tell me how they defied all odds.

I promise you that you won't regret reading my story.

My Journey:

C’s and D’s…

These were my grades from year 7 till 10. In fact, these were my grades all my schooling life.

I never studied.

I never cared.

The only things I cared about was playing video games and hanging out with the boys.

While everyone else would stress out that our yearly exam worth 50% of the grade was due tomorrow…I would be relaxing and watching Netflix.
I used to tell myself and believe that:

‘If I read the slides right before I enter the exam room, I’ll have all the information I need to do well’
Spoiler Alert: I was wrong.

Every year of high school passed by, and not once did I even bare to worry about my future.

I was called stupid.

I was called dumb.

I was laughed at.

I was the student that the school wanted to drop out…

I disappointed my parents and those around me.

I simply didn’t care. School wasn’t for me. I hated it.

However, on one strange evening while I was on a family trip, this had all changed…