How do i know if law is for me? (1 Viewer)

timeslowsdown

Everything for the Lord
HSC
N/A
Hey - I'm a first year law student and I don't think there's any way you can really be sure. I know this isn't the answer you want but you can only try and then see if you like it. I was in a similar position you - I had no idea if I'd like law and was really anxious that I was making the wrong decision. But once I started, I really enjoyed it. I'm near the end of my first semester and even though I've only done 'Introducing Law and Justice', an introductory unit which many feel doesn't truly reflect what law is about, I've come to know that this is what I want to do.

So my advice is just try it. If I hadn't given it a try I never would have known that I love it - even if you try it and you hate it, at least you know you can rule that option out and never have regrets. For the mean time, I think you have to have a passion for understanding how society works - from what I've done, it's definitely not all about changing the world and making a difference. Also, there's a fair bit of problem solving, so if you like that there's a fair chance you'll like law.

Maybe someone with more experience can give you better advice

NBGHHS

HSC
Law is the thing for you if you are GENUINELY interested in learning about the law. Anyone can get a law degree if they put their mind to it. But the degree is 'the thing for you' only if you want to learn more about the intricacies and possibly confusing areas of what we call law.

Like the above poster mentioned, LAWS1052/introducing law and justice is not an accurate indication for the rest of the degree, but it gives you a glimpse of the areas of law that you will study later on. You'll definitely feel like doing law was a mistake in the first two weeks (well i did :p), but as you go on, it gets fun. You can only get a proper answer if you can come and experience it to your liking.

aphorae

HSC
Uni Grad