Help (1 Viewer)

Sirius Black

Maths is beautiful
HSC
hi all,
I am a yr 11 student but I am doing yr12 4u maths so it is hard for me

Here is a question
How to factoriseP(x)= x^3-3x^2+4 and P(x)=x^4+x^3-3x^3-5x-2 and find the multiple root

And has anyone goy any general idea about solving polynomials. You know like P(x)=x^4-2x^3+2x-1 has a multiple zero ,find the zero.
In this question how come they can get P(1)=0 directly in the first step??

Thank you:apig:

Xayma

Lacking creativity
HSC
N/A
Remainder Theorem

for the first one
P(-1)=0

Therefore (x+1) is a factor. Do division of it.

For the second one P(2)=0
Therefore divide it by (x-2)

CM_Tutor

HSC
N/A
Originally posted by Sirius Black
Factorise P(x)= x^3-3x^2+4
To do this, you first need to find a solution of P(x) = 0. The usual way to do this is to try the factors of the constant. Here the constant is 4, so we'd try 1, 2, 4, -1, -2, and -4.

P(1) = 1<sup>3</sup> -3(1)<sup>2</sup> + 4 = 1 - 3 + 4 = 2 <> 0 ..... No good, keep going.
P(2) = 2<sup>3</sup> -3(2)<sup>2</sup> + 4 = 8 - 12 + 8 = 4 <> 0 ..... No good, keep going.
P(4) = 4<sup>3</sup> -3(4)<sup>2</sup> + 4 = 64 - 48 + 4 = 20 <> 0 ..... No good, keep going.
P(-1) = (-1)<sup>3</sup> -3(-1)<sup>2</sup> + 4 = -1 - 3 + 4 = 0 ..... We found one.

So, x = -1 is a solution of P(x) = 0, and hence (x + 1) is a factor of P(x). We could now do long division to find the quadratic factor, and then factorise that by the usual quadratic methods, or we could find the other factors using root theory, or we could use root theory to find the quadratic - I favour the third of these, as it is shortest.

Consider P(x) = 0 with roots a, b and -1.
Sum of roots: a + b - 1 = -(-3) / 1 and hence a + b = 4
Product of roots: a * b * (-1) = -(4) / 1 and hence a * b = 4
Since these are the roots of the quadratic factor, it must be x<sup>2</sup> - 4x + 4

So, P(x) = (x + 1)(x<sup>2</sup> - 4x + 4) = (x + 1)(x - 2)<sup>2</sup>