Help! Paying for uni (1 Viewer)

henry08

HSC
N/A
I am a rural student currently undertaking a gap year to earn some money. I am planning on going to Sydney and UNSW next year however I am worried about how to pay for it.

I am not an Australian citizen or permanent resident. I am a New Zealand citizen (have been here for several years) and it is my understanding that I am hence a Commonwealth supported student, however are not eligible for HECS and must pay the fees up front (at the start of each semester I belie). I can't afford to pay this up front each semester, what with living costs as well etc having to move away from home.

In Sydney I could probably get accommodation cheap with a relative and would be working as well (hopefully) obviously.

If I returned to New Zealand it is my understanding that I would be entitled to StudyLink (their version of HECS from what i have read) and after 6 months of living there the interest on the loans would be free. I don't really wish to return to New Zelaand however and consider myself an Australian (and have done for a nubmer of years). However I would not have a palce to stay.

I cannot get Australian citizenship as that is going to take at least 2 years and there is no gurantee I would even be accepted, what woth not being qualified at anything yet.

Obviously I'd like to stay in Australia (and plan to after I finish Uni hopefully) as that is where my family is, however I need to get to Uni bottom line and I'll consider most options.

Thoughts guys on what I can do and anything extra which may help me out? :)

Andi0390

HSC
I'm like opposite to you.

I'm at ANU and going over to Uni of Otago for a bit, and I can get Studylink which is good. There is no way I would be able to afford it without it. I've program leave from ANU though in case I change my mind.