Help needed - Good 8th grade/Associate pieces. (1 Viewer)

frontin

HSC
Help needed - Good 8th grade/Associate piano pieces.

Hey I'm in year 10 at the moment and I'm starting 8th grade piano at the moment and I know this is kind of a foolish question but which pieces are really good for mainly 8th grade and Associate if you would like to add.

I'm more of an expressionist then a technical player, I've picked my List C as in the Nocturne in E Minor by Chopin but I haven't really listened to anything else (just a few) in the other lists and if anyone can save me the trouble to going through every single one by telling me a recommendation that would be great!

List B, the 2 I would probably go for are Beethoven and Mozart I think. I don't mind how long it is or anything but bare in mind im not too good at octaves (which I can't avoid but the less the better :)) Just one that sounds really passionate, interesting, expressionate and most of all beautiful. I kind of like pieces which convey lots of different emotions. I don't mind a bit of jazz too but I doubt thats in 8th grade, a mix between the classical and romantic periods is fine with me too. Just as long as it doesn't sound too boring.

In the past I've done the Pathetique 3rd movement, Rosemary by Bridge, Latin Preludes and the dreaded Courante which I was crazy enough to do.

List A I really have no idea, Liszt's etudes or the Italian Concerto possibly? and List D I'm thinking of maybe one of Debussy's preludes like La Serenade Interrompue.

Anyway, if anyone can tell me a piece they have done or they are doing that really stuck out for them in 8th grade that would be brilliant. I don't want to miss something that sounds really good as I will be doing these pieces for a year. The most important thing for me is that the piece is my style, the fact that I will enjoy it and the confidence to pull it off well. Your help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
frontin

Last edited:

kony

HSC