Heart Of Darkness (1 Viewer)

Serpentia

Sorry if this book already has been discussed

I studied this book in my prelim course and absolutely loved it, it's a brilliant book and was so far ahead of its time. The issues discussed in it, and the way they are represented and explored is absolutely mind blowing, especially when you consider that the author (Joseph Conrad) was writing in a language that was not his native language (he's Polish).

It's a very difficult book to read, quite short but takes AAAAAAAGESSSS to read

Who else has read it and what do you think??

It's interesting to see how elements of the novel have been integrated into society. The expression "heart of darkness" is used quite often, as is "the horror the horror"

Gregor Samsa

That Guy
HSC
Originally posted by ~ForAGoodCause~
umm name sounds familiar.. can remember exactly though... could u explain a lil about what happens?
To briefly encapsulate the plot..The narrative (of a narrative) concerns the voyage of Marlowe, a seaman down the Congo River, attempting to find Kurtz, a trader who has 'gone native'. In the process, the nature of imperialism and humanity are questioned, an increasingly surreal and traumatic experience that leads to the defining statement, the horror, the horror/.

Of course, there is much more to it than that, with the text functioning as a subtle critique of imperialism. However, this is conducted on a level so that Heart Of Darkness remains just as relevant today, if not more so.

Does anyone else have the Penguin edition with 'The Congo Diary' as an appendix? The contrast between this and HoD is amazing, between terse entries, and vivid, eloquent language.

Highly recommended. :p

Dash

ReSpEcTeD
HSC
I found the book incredibly boring when I was reading it in yr 11 for a prescribed text.
But now the language and content appeals to me quite a bit :p

Rahul

Dead Member