Full-Time Job offer, what to do? (1 Viewer)

Dammit

Well, ive been offered a full time job and i dont know what to do.

bit of background, finished year 12 in 2003, now all of 2004 i studied my ass off and have just graduated with an Advanced Diploma in Business Marketing, and a Diploma in Business Management.

I am in a bit of a pickle, i want to get into property management and real estate and obviously no one will start me off as assistant property manager etc so i need to start off as receptionist - with duties including taking phone messages, mailing, banking that sort of stuff. I went for a 2nd job interview today and an hour later they rang me and said ive got the job and can i start on monday and i said yes. Anyway i thought about it after and they had not mentioned a single thing about salary, so i rang them back to ask and the receptionist whos job i am taking said she is 22 and gets about $450/week so $23,000 PA.

Anyway because im only 19 I think this will be less because in the ad it said award wages apply which would mean Ill get about $350/wk or $18,000 PA.

Am I wrong in thinking that I shouldn't be getting paid peanuts because I have tertiary qualifications?

I have also had an offer for another 2nd interview at a different real estate for the same sort of position and they asked me what salary i would be interested in and i said about $30,000 and they didnt seem to flinch or think that i was unrealistic/dreaming. I havent told them I had another job offer but my mum thinks i should ring this other real estate quick smart tomorrow and try and get an offer out of them before COB friday so if its a higher salary then i can tell the one who wants to pay me approx 18k that i have a better offer.

What to do???? HELP!!!!!! I am new to all this as i have only worked casual before until now...and in those jobs i was getting a good $12-$15 an hour which is alot more than this offer. but then again that was casual this is full time.. so anyway.