Eeeeeeeeeeekkkkkk!!!! (1 Viewer)

Megz

Oh...it's you!!!
Ok, I need help peoples.....I am doing a Bachelor of Arts/Diploma of Education...
I am having major difficulties trying to work out which sort of units I am meant to be doing, cos in the handbook it just says 12 of these units, 12 of those....and when I look these units up...their prerequisites are "to be enrolled in BEd(Primary) or BEd(Sec)"...and I have no idea what I am meant to be doing!!!
Does anyone have an idea, or is doing this course?
I want to focus on Mathematics (is that possible?) and/or Geography as my main area of teaching...

muli

Megz...

Don't stress too much, reading through the undergraduate handbook at first regarding your program, it does come across as a tad confusing. Buuuuuuuuuut in essence you're really just looking a little too deep into what some of the pre-reqs are.

I'm gonna list a choice of subjects you could do first year that will fill the pre-reqs for second year. You don't necessarily have to chose them, but it might point you in the right direction.

NB. If you're wanting to teach maths, you will have to enroll in MATH units, and a lot of these have pre-reqs of high marks in HSC maths, so I'm working off the assumption you got above 90 (which makes sence, seeing as you were smart enough to join up to the MQ Board ;)) But yeh, still check the pre-reqs cause i'm not sure what maths ya did.

1st Semester
EDUC105 - Education: The Psychological Context
MATH135 - Mathematics 1A
GEOS111 - Society, Space and Environments

2nd Semester
EDUC106 - Education: The Social and Historical Context
GEOS114 - Global Environment Futures (Not essential)
MATH136 - Mathematics 1B

There is also room in that first year for another non related subject each semester. (eg: i'm doing BMedia, yet I had room to chuck in a music unit for first year) So yeh, that will be a relaxed timetable for you at the moment, so if there's something else ya wanna chuck in, go for it.