ECOP or ECON?!?! (1 Viewer)

morganforrest

HSC
So I'm studying Media and Comms this year and have pretty much decided when I'd ideally like to study each subject.

Semester One: MECO1003, ENGL1000, GOVT1406, ECOP1001

Semester Two: MECO1001, GOVT1105, ECOP1003 and I can't decide for my last one between ECOP1002 and ECON1002?

Anyone give me an idea of which they prefer and if I'm making any drastic mistakes in the other subjects I've chosen?

Cheers

EDITED: Thanks Triangulum

Last edited:

Triangulum

Dignitatis Contentio
HSC
I don't know anything about ECOP and ECON, but you've got an error in a different part of your list: GOVT1105 (Geopolitics) doesn't run in semester 1.

KarmaKitten

HSC
To answer your question,

I'd say ecop. If you want to study economics from a more social development aspect etc rather than just pure economics

bustinjustin

HSC
Since you're already doing ECOP in semester 1, you may as well do ECOP1002 in semester 2 as well so you can go on to do senior units if you so wish. Also, there's not much point in you doing ECOP1003 since
1) You cannot substitute it for ECOP1002 if you want to do senior units
2) It's not worth wasting an a spare unit on ECOP1003. Sounds interesting on paper, but I personally dropped it because there wasn't much point in doing the unit in my degree, and there were other units that I needed to in order to keep a wider range of senior units open. Search the subject reviews thread as well for a review on ECOP1003, the subject's a little overrated.